Tongeren

Tongering is so much more than the gateway to the beautiful Hesbaye, the "Tuscany of the North".

Haspengouw, one of the largest fruit growing regions in Europe.

We find castle landscapes with castles, religious monuments and marl caves that immerse you in the rich past. Roman ruins and medieval remains.

Tongeren, Belgium's first city, exudes history.

From the Roman and medieval ramparts to the imposing Gothic basilica and the charming beguinage, protected as a UNESCO world heritage site.

The history of Tongeren reads like an adventure story.

In '54 B.C. the local tribes defeat the Romans near Tongeren. One of the leaders is Ambiorix, king of the Eburons. His joy is short-lived. The legions return in revenge and mercilessly exterminate the Eburones. Ambiorix escapes and disappears. Until he suddenly appears on the Grand Place of Tongeren in 1866... as a statue.

At the beginning of the 2nd century A.D. the Romans started building the rampart around the city. The wall is six metres high, two metres thick and 4544 metres long, longer than that of the leading Roman city of Cologne. Over the centuries the wall crumbled.

From the 11th century onwards, Tongeren experienced an economic revival. Trade districts and crafts flourished. From the 13th century onwards, a new rampart was built, partly following the route of its Roman predecessor. Towers and gateways protected the city from intruders. Monasteries, churches and a beguinage embellished the city centre. Until a major fire in 1677, almost the entire centre was reduced to ashes.

Tongeren is slowly recovering from this blow. It was only in 1830 (the founding of Belgium) that a new revival took place. Today, Tongeren is once again that vibrant place of yesteryear, where the spirit of the Romans and the economic zeal of the medieval guilds merged into a fascinating and cosy city with all the comforts of today.

The most famous inhabitant of Tongeren is undoubtedly Ambiorix.

Now the city is stimulating with its modern spirit. Merchants will find what they are looking for in the cosy shops of Tongeren. Burgundians sip a local Amburon beer on the atmospheric terraces on the Grote Markt. Gourmets can be pampered gastronomically in one of the stylish restaurants.

Even on Sundays, Tongeren is buzzing with the largest antiques and brocante market in the Benelux. Or the monthly buying Sundays when all the shops open wide and there are lots of activities for the whole family.

Other fun excursions when staying at the Ruttermolen

© 2020 The Ruttermolen - All rights reserved

Stay tuned!

Tongres

Le Tongering est bien plus que la porte d'entrée de la belle Hesbaye, la "Toscane du Nord".

La Hesbaye, l'une des plus grandes régions fruitières d'Europe.

On y trouve des paysages de châteaux avec des châteaux, des monuments religieux et des grottes de marne qui vous plongent dans le riche passé. Des ruines romaines et des vestiges médiévaux.

Tongres, la première ville de Belgique, respire l'histoire.

Des remparts romains et médiévaux à l'imposante basilique gothique et au charmant béguinage, protégé par l'UNESCO en tant que site du patrimoine mondial.

L'histoire de Tongres se lit comme une histoire d'aventure.

En 54 av. J.-C., les tribus locales vainquent les Romains près de Tongres. L'un des chefs est Ambiorix, roi des Eburons. Sa joie est de courte durée. Les légions reviennent pour se venger et exterminent sans pitié les Eburons. Ambiorix s'échappe et disparaît. Jusqu'à ce qu'il apparaisse soudainement sur la Grand Place de Tongres en 1866... sous forme de statue.

Au début du IIe siècle après J.-C., les Romains ont commencé à construire le rempart autour de la ville. Le mur mesure six mètres de haut, deux mètres d'épaisseur et 4544 mètres de long, soit plus que celui de la première ville romaine, Cologne. Au fil des siècles, le mur s'est effondré.

A partir du XIe siècle, Tongres connaît un renouveau économique. Les quartiers commerciaux et l'artisanat fleurissent. A partir du XIIIe siècle, un nouveau rempart est construit, en partie sur le tracé de son prédécesseur romain. Des tours et des portes protègent la ville des intrus. Des monastères, des églises et un béguinage embellissent le centre ville. Jusqu'à un grand incendie en 1677, la quasi-totalité du centre est réduite en cendres.

Tongres se remet lentement de ce coup. Ce n'est qu'en 1830 (date de la fondation de la Belgique) qu'un nouveau réveil a eu lieu. Aujourd'hui, Tongres est à nouveau ce lieu vivant d'autrefois, où l'esprit des Romains et le zèle économique des corporations médiévales se sont fondus en une ville fascinante et accueillante avec tout le confort d'aujourd'hui.

Le plus célèbre habitant de Tongres est sans doute Ambiorix.

La ville est désormais stimulante grâce à son esprit moderne. Les commerçants trouveront ce qu'ils cherchent dans les boutiques accueillantes de Tongres. Les Bourguignons sirotent une bière locale Amburon sur les terrasses atmosphériques de la Grand-Place. Les gourmets peuvent se faire dorloter gastronomiquement dans l'un des restaurants élégants.

Même le dimanche, Tongres est animée par le plus grand marché d'antiquités et de brocantes du Benelux, ou par le dimanche des achats mensuels, lorsque tous les magasins ouvrent grand et qu'il y a beaucoup d'activités pour toute la famille.

Autres excursions amusantes lors du séjour au Ruttermolen

2020 The Ruttermolen - Tous droits réservés

Restez à l'écoute !